Of Montreal Announces New Album; Releases Single, “Bassem Sabry”

Image Courtesy of Polyvinyl RecordsOf Montreal has announced the follow-up to their 2013 album, Lousy With Sylvianbriar. The new record is entitled Aureate Gloom and will be released March 3. Frontman Kevin Barnes interprets the album title to mean "a golden despondency."

"I was going through a very stormy period in my life and felt like I was just completely trashed," continues Barnes in a press release. "I might be guilty of sharing or exposing too much of my private life, but to me the best albums are those that help people connect with an artist on a deep, human level and that do so without too much artifice or evasiveness."

In concert with the album announcement, of Montreal has released the first single from Aureate Gloom, "Bassem Sabry." You can listen to the new track on SoundCloud.

Here is the track list for Aureate Gloom:

"Bassem Sabry"
"Last Rites at the Jane Hotel"
"Empyrean Abbatoir"
"Aluminum Crown"
"Virgillian Lots"
"Monolithic Egress"
"Apollyon of Blue Room"
"Chthonian Dirge for Uruk the Other"
"Like Ashoka's Inferno of Memory"

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio