Nothing Else Matters: Metallica’s “Hardwired…to Self-Destruct” Arrives Today

Blackened RecordingsAt long last, Metallica's new album is here. Self-Destruct, the metal legends' 10th studio album, arrives today.

"I think there is definitely more of a New Wave of British Heavy Metal thing on this record," drummer Lars Ulrich tells Rolling Stone. "It's just a lot of banging riffs and rockin' kinds of moments, as well as some straighter, simpler drumming."

Ulrich says listening to Self-Destruct  -- spanning two discs and nearly 80 minutes long -- is "quite a beating," but he also feels it "may be the most consistent record we've made."

"I think that this record is deep," he says. "I think there's a consistency that runs deeper than usual for us, so I'm pretty psyched about that."

Among the songs on Self-Destruct include the single "Moth into Flame," the thrashy banger "Hardwired" and "Murder One," which frontman James Hetfield wrote as a tribute to the late Motorhead frontman Lemmy Kilmister.

"James had never really written a song like that or about anybody," Ulrich says of "Murder One." "At first, I was a little taken aback by its directness or its bluntness, because James has a tendency to write very indirect lyrics. Most are very abstract. So it was odd for me in the beginning just how direct it was, but then a couple of things got tweaked and I fell in love with it."

Metallica will play a one-off show in Oakland December 17 before launching a tour through Asia next year in support of Hardwired. Plans for a full U.S. tour are still being "finalized," Ulrich says.

"We are definitely going to cover all of the U.S.," he adds. "And we look forward to getting out and doing a proper U.S. thing again."

Here is the Self-Destruct track list:

Disc One
"Atlas, Rise!"
"Now that We’re Dead"
"Moth into Flame"
"Am I Savage?"
"Halo on Fire"

Disc Two
"Dream No More"
"Here Comes Revenge"
"Murder One"
"Spit Out the Bone"

Copyright © 2016, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.