Death Cab for Cutie Announces New Album, “Kintsugi”

Image Courtesy of Atlantic RecordsDeath Cab for Cutie have announced the release of their eighth album, entitled Kintsugi. The record will be DCFC's first release since the departure of founding guitarist Chris Walla, who left the band last year. Kintsugi will be released on March 31.

"Considering what we were going through internally, and with what a lot of the lyrics are about, it had a great deal of resonance for us -- the idea of figuring out how to repair breaks and make them a thing of beauty," says bassist Nick Harmer of the album's title, which refers to the Japanese art of repairing broken ceramics with precious metals. "Philosophically, spiritually, emotionally, it seems perfect for this group of songs."

Walla announced his departure from DCFC this past August, writing "I think I long for the unknown. It might be that simple." He played his last show with the band in September.

Kintsugi will be DCFC's first album since 2011's Codes and Keys, which was nominated for Best Alternative Music Album at the 2012 Grammys, but lost out to Bon Iver's self-titled sophomore release.

Here is the track list for Kintsugi:

"No Room in Frame"
"Black Sun"
"The Ghosts of Beverly Drive"
"Little Wanderer"
"You've Haunted Me All My Life"
"Hold No Guns"
"Everything's a Ceiling"
"Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)"
"El Dorado"
"Binary Sea"

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.