Nate Ruess to Receive Hal David Starlight Award at Songwriters Hall of Fame Ceremony

Credit: Norman SeeffFun. frontman and newly-minted solo artist Nate Ruess will be honored with the Hal David Starlight Award at this year's Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Named after SHOF chairman emeritus Hal David, the Starlight Award is given to "songwriters who are at an apex in their careers and are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs."

"Nate's lyrics are clever, warm and accessible and his music is sophisticated and memorable," says Songwriters Hall of Fame president/CEO Linda Moran in a statement. "Whether it's the blockbuster hits he created with Fun. or the powerful new single from his debut solo album, Nate Ruess is a real force in pop music for today and the future."

Ruess has recorded two albums with fun., most recently 2012's Grammy-nominated Some Nights, which featured the hit singles "We Are Young," "Some Nights," and "Carry On." Last month, Ruess premiered his first solo track, "Nothing Without Love." He plans to release his debut solo album later this year.

The Hal David Starlight Award began in 2004. Last year's winner was Imagine Dragons frontman Dan Reynolds.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame induction and awards dinner will be held June 18 in New York City.

Copyright © 2015, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.